Planet Facts

A planet is a large object such as Jupiter or Earth that orbits a star. It is smaller than a star, and it does not make light. Planets are ball-shaped (spheres). Objects that orbit planets are called moons. There are eight planets in the Solar System. See the fact file below for more information about the planets.

  • All eight planets can be seen with a small telescope or binoculars.
  • Venus is the brightest planet and can be seen without a telescope.
  • The earth has more water than it has land.
  • Mars is home to the largest volcano in our solar system. It is almost 17 miles high.
  • Jupiter is the largest planet. All of the other planets could fit inside Jupiter. The red spot on Jupiter is the most violent storm in the Universe.
  • Saturn is the lightest of all the planets. It is also the second largest.
  • One year on Neptune lasts 165 Earth years!
  • Uranus orbits while lying on its side, because its axis is at 97 degrees.
  • Mercury and Venus have no moons. The Earth has 1 moon. Mars has 2 moons. Neptune has 13 moons. Uranus has 21 moons. Saturn has 33 moons. Jupiter has 63 moons.
  • All of the outer planets, (Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Uranus) have rings.

External resources

Planets for Kids
A Parade of New Planets
Amazing Space
Bodies in the Solar System
Exploring Planets
From Mercury to Pluto
Ordering the Planets
Planetary Fact Sheet






Cassini Image Gallery:  Jupiter Encounter
Eleven New Moons for Jupiter
Jupiter: Millennium Flyby
Jupiter’s Ring System
NSSDC Photo Gallery: Jupiter
Satellites of Jupiter
Solar System Exploration: Jupiter
SpaceTech’s Orrery: Jupiter: Giant Failed Star
The Planet Jupiter
Welcome to the Planets: Jupiter
Windows to the Universe: Jupiter





Read this article to find out why Pluto is now
considered a “Dwarf Planet.”
Is Pluto a Planet?

Fast Facts Resources
The Nine Planets Solar System Tour
Planets:  Zoom Astronomy