American Flag Facts

The flag of the United States of America is a national flag and has 7 red stripes and 6 white stripes. These 13 stripes stand for the 13 original colonies. The flag also has a blue canton, a rectangle in the top left corner. The canton has one white star for every state. The flag is also often called the Stars and Stripes, the Star-Spangled Banner, or Old Glory. See below for more information about the American flag.