American Flag Facts

The flag of the United States of America is a national flag and has 7 red stripes and 6 white stripes. These 13 stripes stand for the 13 original colonies. The flag also has a blue canton, a rectangle in the top left corner. The canton has one white star for every state. The flag is also often called the Stars and Stripes, the Star-Spangled Banner, or Old Glory. See below for more information about the American flag.

Join the KidsKonnect Community

Join over 100,000 kids with new facts and information delivered every week. It's free, and is no-spam guaranteed.

Choose which best applies: