Hockey Facts

Hockey Facts
Remove these ads
  • The origin of ice hockey is unknown. Many believe ice hockey probably evolved from the game of field hockey that had been played in Northern Europe for centuries.
  • The rules of modern ice hockey were written by a man named J. G. A. Creighton. Mr. Creighton was from Canada. In 1875, the first game of ice hockey with Creighton’s rules was played in Montreal, Canada. In 1877, the first known rules for ice hockey were published by the Montreal Gazette.
  • Ice hockey is played with two opposing teams wearing ice skates. These skates have a long blade that extends past the end of the boot and there is no toe pick. This is what makes the hockey skate different from the figure skate.
  • In ice hockey, each team only has six players on the ice rink at a time, unless there is a penalty.
  • The aim of the game is to knock the hockey puck into the opposing team’s net. The net is guarded by a special player called the goalie.
  • In 1924, ice hockey gained a place in the Winter Olympics.
  • In 1888, the first Amateur Hockey Association was formed.
  • In 1892, the first ever women’s hockey game was played in Ottawa, Canada.
  • The NHL was formed in 1917. It consisted of 5 teams: Montreal Canadians, Montreal Wanderers, Ottawa Senators, Quebec Bulldogs and the Toronto Arenas, which was the only team with artificial ice.
  • There are six teams known as “The original Six.” Those teams are: Boston Bruins, Chicago Blackhawks, Detroit Red Wings, Montreal Canadians, New York Rangers, and the Toronto Maple Leafs. Today, 30 teams make up the NHL.