Netherlands Facts

Netherlands Facts

The Netherlands is the main constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. It is a small, densely populated country, lying mainly in Western Europe, but also includes three islands in the Caribbean. See the fact file below for more information about the Netherlands.

Amsterdam; The Hague is the seat of government

16,067,754 (July 2002 est.)

total: 41,526 sq km
water: 7,643 sq km
land: 33,883 sq km
slightly less than twice the size of New Jersey

Type of Government
Constitutional monarchy

Euro (EUR); Netherlands guilder (NLG)

temperate; marine; cool summers and mild winters

Primary Language

External resources

Join the KidsKonnect Community

Join over 100,000 kids with new facts and information delivered every week. It's free, and is no-spam guaranteed.

Choose which best applies: