American Revolution Facts

American Revolution Facts

The American Revolution was a political battle that took place between 1765 and 1783 during which colonists in the Thirteen American Colonies rejected the British monarchy and aristocracy, overthrew the authority of Great Britain, and founded the United States of America. See the fact file below for more information and American Revolution facts.

  • The American Revolution, also known as the Revolutionary War, began in 1775.
  • British soldiers and American patriots started the war with battles at Lexington and Concord, Massachusetts.
  • Colonists in America wanted independence from England.
  • The British government attempted to pass some laws, enforce several taxes, and increase more control over the colonies. The colonies strongly objected to these laws and taxes. They wanted England to have no control over them.
  • For ten years before the war actually started, there was a lot of tension between England and the colonies.
  • The colonies had no central government at the beginning of the war, so delegates from all the colonies were sent to form the first Continental Congress.
  • George Washington, a former military officer and wealthy Virginian, was appointed Commander in Chief of the Continental Army.
  • Members of the Continental Congress wrote a letter to King George of England outlining their complaints and declaring their independence from England.
  • On July 4, 1776, the Continental Congress adopted the Declaration of Independence, in which the colonies declared their independence from England.
  • The war ended in 1783, and the United States of America was born.

Join the KidsKonnect Community

Join over 100,000 kids with new facts and information delivered every week. It's free, and is no-spam guaranteed.

Choose which best applies: